Fourteen collections of Jennifer Maiden's poetry (one including short stories) and two novels have been published. Her most recent collection of poetry, Pirate Rainwas published by Giramondo Press in 2010 and won the Age Poetry Book of the Year as well as being shortlisted for the Queensland Premier's Judith Wright Calanthe Award. She has been awarded the NSW and Premiers' Prizes for poetry, and many others. In 1999 she was awarded the F.A.W Christopher Brennan prize for a lifetime achievement in literature. She was the subject of the half-hour documentary, 'Field Notes', a co-production of The Red Room Company and the Writing & Society Research Group at the University of Western Sydney. 



1974: Tactics. (UQP)

1975: The Problem of Evil. (Prism)

1975: The Occupying Forces. (Gargoyle)

1977: Mortal Details. (Rigmarole)

1978: Birthstones. (Angus & Robertson)

1979: The Border Loss. (Angus & Robertson)

1981: For The Left Hand. (South Head)

1982: The Terms. (Hale & Iremonger, 1982)

1988: The Trust. (Black Lightning)

1990: Bastille Day. (NLA)

1990: Play With Knives. (Allen & Unwin)

1990: Selected Poems of Jennifer Maiden. (Penguin)

1990: The Winter Baby. (Angus & Robertson)

1993: Acoustic Shadow. (Penguin)

1999: Mines. (Paper Bark)

2005: Friendly Fire (Giramondo) 

2010: Pirate Rain (Giramondo)


  • Jennifer Maiden 'Day Release'


  • Field Notes - Jennifer Maiden